kogin embroidery techniques

I have started working on some designs with the traditional Japanese embroidery technique kogin including a new laptop sleeve. At recent craft shows, I have been teaching classes making kogin buttons as a way of introducing the technique for beginners in a short lesson.

For the next craft show I thought it might be a good idea to bring some other examples of how the decorative embroidery technique can be used on larger, functional designs such as a laptop sleeve which could be worked on at home.

 

I made myself a laptop bag quite a while ago and have found it so convenient for travelling. This time I have made the design a simple sleeve without handles, with a single kogin button and elastic holding it closed. I also made a mobile phone holder with kogin. I think the all-over traditional design looks very striking.

These embroidery designs came from a kogin book from Olympus Thread and there are so many beautiful projects to choose from. Since these books arrived in the shop I have been trying so many different kogin designs both traditional and contemporary. I am looking forward to starting the next one!

Leave a Reply

