New Sashiko Table-Runner Bordered With Takumi Fabric

Last week I completed another sashiko stitched table-runner which was very easy to do using a 30cm wide piece of this pre-stencilled fabric.
It’s always fun to come up with new patterns with these pre-stencilled fabrics, you can really play as all the markings wash out, once the stitching is complete. . . . They also make wonderful gifts I think.

The sashiko stitching was completed while Sarah was home as we are putting together another Youtube video which we hope will be ready by the end of Feb.

My first table runner was made at least 7 years ago using this fabric and as it was so quick I kept playing with the design in the 3 colour ways available. Circles are my preference as you can see from my samples here. This latest one I added some needle turn appliqué petals, something I haven’t done for a few years. I used my favourite blue sashiko threads #9 and #10. For the appliqué petals and border this beautiful Takumi fabric which I felt complemented the threads well.

Please, if you have any questions ask away! via the blog or our contact page on the website

A handout will be available on request when purchasing a 30cm piece of the pre-stencllied fabric. I hope to have it ready by early February hopefully earlier.

Until next time,
Take care,

Jane

Leave a Reply

